Transmediale Award Winners 2011


Announced by Stephen Kovats, Transmediale Artistic Director, jury member Micz Flor, Claudia Becker of the _Vilém_Flusser_Archiv in Berlin and Mark Surman, Mozilla CEO and this year's speaker at the Marshall McLuhan Lecture, on Saturday 5 February at the House of World Cultures, The winners of the 2011 Transmediale Awards:

Jordan Crandall is this year's winner of the Vilém Flusser Theory Award. A few days ago he presented his written piece GATHERINGS 1: EVENT, AGENCY, AND PROGRAM in a performance lecture at the Auditorium.

The public voting for the Open Web Award, a new collaboration between transmediale and Mozilla / Drumbeat ended on Saturday night 4 February with Evan Roth having scored the highest amount of votes for his project Graffiti Analysis / Graffiti Markup Language. Pointing out how difficult it can be in the arts to get proper financial support and funding Evan decided to split the awarded money of 5000 Euros between all of the three nominees in his category as a gesture towards the importance of projects of this kind.

The House of Natural Fibre (HONF) were honoured with the transmediale Award for their installation Intelligent Bacteria – Saccharomyces cerevisiae. On Sunday night, 6 February, they perform their bacteria orchestra in the HacKaWay in one of the closing events of transmediale.11!

Further details here.

Projects: Graffiti Analysis
People: Evan Roth, Jordan Crandall, Stephen Kovats
Tags: festival, transmediale